top of page
  • Writer's pictureSween

Top 5 Places to Study at Tech

Updated: Aug 27, 2019



Happy Reading Day!!! We are almost done with the semester. Today I’m sharing my top 5 places to study with you at Virginia Tech.


Here is a long desk spot at Torg.

Torgerson Bridge


Torg is my go to place to study. When I really need to grind, I need peace and quiet with minimal distractions. Since Torg is a quiet floor, this allows me to sit down and get everything I need done, done. Seeing other people around you focus, really helps give you the motivation to do it also.


Wallace Hall


As you know, I’m a business student at Tech. I spend most of my time at Pamplin and the halls very close to Pamplin. Wallace is towards the Ag Quad. (Opposite side of campus) When you walk in there, Wallace has a bright lounge where you can study. I find that changing up your usual study place gives you the chance to meet new people and try new things.



Starbucks


Starbucks allows you get off of campus and provides a relaxed vibe making it a great place to study. The WiFi is always so strong there. Some people may think that it’s weird to study there especially if you don’t purchase anything. However, if you get free water in a Starbucks cup you’ll get the look that you came there to study.




Femoyer Hall


Student Success Center provides free tutoring for students in Femoyer. They have both group tutoring and one-on-one tutoring. I’ve been going to Femoyer since my freshmen year. Some of the tutors there kinda scare me because they're so smart. This semester I have had the honor of being tutored by a girl named Lillie, for one of my BIT classes. She honestly is the reason why I am passing that class. Part of Tech's tuition is including these "free services." I highly encourage people to use the SSC to its full use!


New Classroom Building


NCB is a great place to study. Living off campus it can be a pain coming back to campus. If you go to Tech, you know finding a place to park at Squires after five seems impossible. NCB offers an easy place to park and lots of desks to study. In NCB, don't forget about the little desks on every floor in the little lobby areas. (My personal favorite little lobby area is on the second floor. It has huge windows and somewhat overlooks the corner of the Duck Pond.


Have any questions? Feel free to contact me.

Good luck with finals sunshine.

XOXO,

Sween

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page